How to get a work permit in Washington? - Updated to 2023 (2023)

Are you a teenager interested in finding a job and wondering how to get started?

It's easier than you think! This guide walks you through the process and you'll be up and running in no time. But before we continue, let's first look at "How to get a work permit in Washington" as a teenager.

So here's what you need to do…

take a look↓↓↓

How to get a work permit in Washington? - Updated to 2023 (1)


  • What is the minimum age?
  • What jobs do minors need?
    • Signed power of attorney.
    • proof of age
  • What does an employer need to hire a minor?
  • Work opportunities for minors in Washington
    • What jobs are prohibited for minors?
  • What are the restrictions on the work of minors?
    • 14-15 years old
    • 16-17 years old
  • What is the minimum wage for minors?
  • What are child labor laws for minors?
  • Looking for more information on teen careers?
  • final thoughts

What is the minimum age?

heMinimum age to work in WashingtonIs 14 years old. This is the standard age requirement under federal law in most states. As a minor between the ages of 14 and 17, your employer must have a minor work permit. This will allow you to pursue any career in Washington.

First, for any employerEmployment of a minor in Washington, you must go through a legal process before you can be approved for a minor work permit. More on this later...

What jobs do minors need?

As a minor between the ages of 14 and 17, when you find a job that interests you and the employer wants to hire you, it is the employer's responsibility to obtain a minor work permit. But first you need to get some documents together so your employer can start applying.

Here's what to give…

Signed power of attorney.

Minors seeking employment must obtain a letter of authorization signed by their parents or guardians. This form can be accessedher.If the minor intends to work during the summer, a consent form signed by their school representative must be provided. This document must be filed at the minor's workplace for filing. More on this later...

proof of age

You must present proof of age so that your employer can use it to apply for your work permit. Your employer must also keep a copy at your workplace. Acceptable proof of age includes passport, driver's license, baptismal certificate. Or even a legally notarized consent form from your parent or guardian.

What does an employer need to hire a minor?

There are many licensing requirements and other documents that your employer must provide. like aTeenagers looking for jobs in Washington, it is also important to be familiar with the process. These are the steps your employer must follow…

  • To be licensed to employ minors in Washington state, each business must be approved by a superior judge in the place where the minor lives. There are strict procedures to be followed and an application fee must also be paid to the court.
  • The employer must first submit two documents to the High Court, namely: the "Employer's Petition" and the "Court Form", giving the minor permission to start working.
  • Employers must publish aRecognition of small work permitsCourt case, this is done by applying for a "license to operate"form. Employers are responsible for providing this recognition to any minor in any workplace. In addition, business licenses must be renewed annually.
  • As a minor looking for work, you must have signed permission from your parent or guardian or school representative if you wish to work during the school holidays. Be sure to complete this form and give it to your employer.
  • When the court makes this application and grants permission, the minor release form and the court's consent must be sent to the Department of Labor and Industries for processing.
  • Once all of these documents have been received by the Washington Department of Labor and Industries, it's time to apply for a minor work permit. Your employer will contact you to let you know when the process is complete.

Work opportunities for minors in Washington

If you are a minor in Washington, the most common jobs are retail, hospitality, and customer service, such as working in stores, restaurants, and department stores. search latestTeenagejob i Washington.

What jobs are prohibited for minors?

For all young people under the age of 18, any occupation considered dangerous must not be carried out. Some prohibited tasks include driving, cooking, food processing, lifting heavy objects or machinery, repairs and construction work. For specific prohibited roles and industries, you can search this website:Youth Employment in Washingtonat vide mere information.

How to get a work permit in Washington? - Updated to 2023 (2)

What are the restrictions on the work of minors?

General employment restrictions apply to all young people under the age of 18. For minors seeking work in the non-agricultural sector, a list of prohibited jobs may be foundher. Restrictive tariffs have been introduced for the agricultural sectorher.

For minors between the ages of 14 and 16, certain professions have special restrictions. For more information about these restrictions, visit thisinternet side.

14-15 years old

Teenagers aged 14-15 may not work alone after 8 p.m. rice. So in some professions, such as the hospitality industry, they must be supervised by an adult.

Minors work six days a week, three hours a day. They can only work between 7:00 and 19:00 and cannot work more than 16 hours a week. You can also take a 30-minute break every four hours and a break every two hours.

16-17 years old

If you are between the ages of 16 and 17 in Washington, some jobs do not require a work permit. Despite the fact that you are a minor, you are still subject to working hours.

You may only work 4 hours per day or 20 hours per week, up to a maximum of 6 days per week, while classes are in progress. This is allowed from 7:00am to 10:00pm or midnight on weekends. You are also entitled to a 30-minute break for every 5 working hours.

What is the minimum wage for minors?

Most jobs in Washington state are maintained at the state minimum wage in both agricultural and non-agricultural industries. If you are under 16, your wages must be at least 85% of the state minimum wage, which is $8.05 an hour. If you are a minor between the ages of 16 and 17, you are entitled to the same applicable state minimum wage as an adult.

What are child labor laws for minors?

If you're a minor and working your first job, it's important to familiarize yourself with your state's child labor laws. When you are employed, your employer must follow these strict labor laws. Remember that your rights must be protected and you have the right to work in a safe and legal environment at all times. For more detailed information on the employment rights of minors, please visitWashington Child Labor Laws.

Looking for more information on teen careers?

Depending on what state you live in or will be moving to for work, I have put together a list ofHow to Get a California Work Permit,How to get a work permit in Massachusetts, yHow to Get a Work Permit in Illinois, andHow to Get a Work Permit in Arizona,finallyHow to Get a Maryland Work Permit.

For an excellent professional guide for teenagers, we recommend checking outYour Teen's Guide to College and Career Planning, yThe Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teenagers, alsowho I am? : The professional A-Z guide for teenagers, for more options, andWhat color is your parachute? For teenagers: Find yourself, design your future, plan your dream job.

Finally we found tooLife skills and career training for teenagers, alsoSoft Skills Training: How to Build Employability SkillsHelping you prepare for the world of work, or howYour work schedule, yThe Career Handbook: The Ultimate Guide to Planning for the FutureAll will be available online in 2023.

final thoughts

There are a number of options for minors seeking work in Washington. To work as a minor, you must first have a work permit. Unlike some states, the process of obtaining this credential is the responsibility of the employer.

As a minor in Washington, you must provide a signed power of attorney with proof of age. Your employer is then responsible for completing the process of obtaining your minor work permit.

Good luckGet a Washington work permitand your first job!

5/5 - (36 votes)

of the:


How do I get a work permit in Washington? ›

Apply with the Department of Revenue (DOR) for a minor work permit. L&I reviews all minor work permit requests. Once approved, DOR will issue a new business license with your endorsement. You must post this new business license once you receive it, and renew it with DOR every year.

Does a 14 year old need a work permit in Washington state? ›

You must have and post a Minor Work Permit for every workplace where you employ one or more people under 18 years of age. You must also have an Industrial Insurance endorsement. Some work duties are prohibited for minors.

Where can a 14 year old work in Washington state? ›

14-15 years old

5 a.m. – 9 p.m. Exception: Youth 14-17 years old are allowed to work 7 days a week in dairy, livestock, hay harvest, and irrigation during school and non-school weeks.

How many hours can a 14 year old work in Washington state? ›

For Minors Under 16:

8 hours of work per day, 40 hours per week up to 6 days a week are permitted when school is off. During a school week, 3 hours of work are permitted per school day (8 hours Friday, Saturday and Sunday) and up to 16 hours per week.

How many hours can a 16 year old work a day in Washington? ›

Employees who are 16-17 years old can work six, four-hour days during a school week, with a maximum of 20 hours in the week. For non-school weeks, these minors can work six, eight-hour work days a week, with a maximum of 48 hours worked per week.

Who can apply for work permit in USA? ›

Who Is Eligible for a Work Permit?
  • DACA recipients.
  • K-1 Fiance Visa holders.
  • Asylees.
  • Immigrants with pending adjustment of status (green card) applications.
  • Immigrants with extraordinary abilities.
  • Spouses of some visa holders.
  • Immigrants with Temporary Protected Status (TPS) or Deferred Enforced Departure (DED)
Aug 20, 2020

How do I get a work permit at 15 in Washington state? ›

The application is called 'Minor Work Permit' is online and can be accessed at

What is the minimum wage in Washington state in 2023? ›

Effective January 1, 2023, Washington State established $15.74 as the new minimum wage, up from $14.19 in 2022. The new wage regulations position Washington as the state with the highest minimum wage in the United States.

Can you get a job in WA at 13? ›

Children aged 13 and 14 are allowed to: deliver newspapers, pamphlets or advertising material. work in a shop, fast food outlet, cafe, restaurant or.

Can you work at Chick Fil A at 14 in Washington? ›

*We hire people at age 14 and 15, at minimum wage.

How much do 14 year olds get paid in Washington state? ›

Younger workers, ages 14 or 15, can expect to be paid $11.63 an hour (85 percent of standard minimum wage). But if your business is in Seattle, the requirements are different.

What is the youngest age to work? ›

As a general rule, the FLSA sets 14 years old as the minimum age for employment, and limits the number of hours worked by minors under the age of 16.

What is the longest shift a 14 year old can work? ›

Federal law states that 14-15 year olds cannot work over 8 hours a day, with no more than 3 hours on a school day, and over 40 hours a week, with no more than 18 hours per week while in school.

What is the youngest age you can work in Washington state? ›

Children between 14 and 17 years of age are minors and their employment is governed by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries (L&I) and the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL). The regulations include specific requirements and limitations for hours of work, meals and rest breaks, and prohibited duties.

What is minimum wage in Washington? ›

Washington state has the highest minimum wage in the country as of January 1, 2023. The state minimum wage is now $15.74 per hour, a $1.25 increase over last year's minimum wage and more than double the federal minimum wage, which continues to sit at $7.25.

Are 15 minute breaks required by law in Washington? ›

All workers must be allowed a paid rest period, free from duties, of at least 10 minutes for every 4 hours worked. The right to receive paid rest breaks cannot be waived by the worker or employer.

How many hours is full time in Washington state? ›

Employment can be part-time (31 hours per week or less) or full-time (32 hours per week or more).

What is the minor law in Washington state? ›

The state of Washington recognizes the age of majority as 18. When a minor reaches age 18, they are considered an adult thereafter. State laws also govern a minor's ability to become emancipated from their parents or legal guardians, give consent for medical treatment, and other legal matters.

What is the easiest way to get a work permit for USA? ›

To apply for your work permit (EAD), file an Application for Employment Authorization (Form 1-765), review the instructions, and pay the filing fee. Depending on your immigration category, your EAD work permit will be good for 1 or 2 years.

Can I work while waiting for my work permit? ›

During this waiting period, you can't legally work in the United States unless you have authorization. If you want to work while you're waiting for your green card to be approved, you have to apply for a work permit using Form I-765: Application for Employment Authorization.

How much does it cost to get a US work permit? ›

$410. You may be exempt from paying the filing fee. See the form instructions for more information.

What documents do I need to get a job in Washington state? ›

Legal Requirements for Hiring an Employee in Washington State
  • Step 1: Master Business License. ...
  • Step 2: I-9 Form. ...
  • Step 3: W-4 Form. ...
  • Step 4: Report Hire to DSHS. ...
  • Step 5: Taxes. ...
  • Additional Employment-Related Laws to Learn. ...
  • Recommended Articles & Videos:

Can you work at McDonald's at 15 in Washington state? ›

You must be 16 years of age or older to work as a Crew Member at McDonald's. Additional Info: This job posting contains some information about what it is like to work in a McDonald's restaurant, but it is not a complete job description.

Can I hire a 15 year old in Washington state? ›

General Regulations for Working Minors

In general, employees must stand years 14 of age or older to work in the State of Washington. Individuals thirteen years of age and younger may work for a family business, provided the minor does not perform prohibited duties.

What state has highest minimum wage? ›

The state with the highest minimum wage isn't California or New York—and it pays more than $15/hour
  • Washington: $15.74. Living wage: $19.58.
  • California: $15.50. Living wage: $21.24.
  • Massachusetts: $15. Living wage: $21.35.
  • New York: $14.20. Living wage: $21.46.
  • New Jersey: $14.13. Living wage: $18.71.
Apr 14, 2023

What is the pay raise in 2023? ›

The average increase for 2023 will fall between 4% and 5%. Just 11% of companies (compared to 18% of companies last year) said they'll increase base pay by more than 5%, according to the report.

Who has the highest minimum wage? ›

Minimum wage workers in Seattle earn the most.

No city in our study has a higher statutory minimum wage than Seattle, where minimum wage workers earn $18.69 an hour. But Seattle is also among the highest cost-of-living cities in our study.

Can you get a job at 13 yes or no? ›

Can you get a job at the age of 13? In the U.S., you must be at least 14 years old to be employed, so you cannot get a job at the age of 13. You can still earn money by doing odd jobs and assisting your neighbors.

What's the latest a 15 year old can work? ›

More than 18 hours per week when school is in session; More than 8 hours per day when school is not in session; More than 40 hours per week when school is not in session; and. Before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. on any day, except from June 1 through Labor Day, when nighttime work hours are extended to 9:00 p.m.

Can a 13 year old work in Oregon? ›

In general, a minor must be at least 14 years old to work in Oregon. In specific industries like agriculture or entertainment, BOLI's Wage and Hour Division may approve work for younger individuals.

Can a 14 year old work at a restaurant in Oregon? ›

Permitted occupations for 14 and 15-year-old employees include those such as cashier, office/clerical work, bagging orders, cleanup work, hand cleaning vegetables, etc. Cooking and baking cannot generally be performed by minors under the age of 16.

What age does McDonald's hire in Texas? ›

We'll teach you the rest. For job openings on your schedule - part time or full time - give us a try. You must be 16 years of age or older to work as a Crew Member at McDonald's.

How old do you have to be to get a job at Chick-fil-A Washington? ›

Perks of being a Chick-fil-A Team Member include flexible hours, competitive pay and a positive atmosphere! Requirements * Must be at least 16 years of age upon hire date * Must be eligible to work ...

What is the highest paid 14 year old? ›

The highest-paid job for a 14-year-old is a golf caddy. A summer golf caddy job could bring in roughly $20 per house plus tips. A golf caddy at an average summer golf course is responsible for carrying the glubs and assisting with small tasks such as tracking the ball, cleaning the ball, and handling clubs.

What's the lowest minimum wage state? ›

Which state has the lowest minimum wage? Georgia and Wyoming's hourly minimum wage are tied at $5.15. However, employers covered by the FLSA must adhere to the federal requirement of $7.25.

How many hours can a minor work in Washington? ›

State or other jurisdictionMaximum daily and weekly hours and days per week for minors of age: a
Under 16
California8-40 school day/week: 3-18
Colorado8-40 school day: 6
Connecticut8-40-6 in mercantile during periods of school vacation of 5 days or more
51 more rows

What job has the youngest workers? ›

US industries with the youngest workers, 2017
  • Shoe stores. 25.6.
  • Restaurants. ...
  • Clothing stores. 29.7.
  • Electronics stores. 32.1.
  • Sporting goods and toy stores. 33.8.
  • Bars. 33.8.
  • Recreational vehicle parks and camps. 34.2.
  • Gas stations. 34.5.

How old did you have to be to work in 1970? ›

In 1970, there were about 140 million Americans eligible to work. That includes anyone over the age of 16 who is not in prison or in the active military — what the Bureau of Labor Statistcs calls the civilian noninstitutional population. Of those 140 million Americans, 78.5 million were employed full- or part-time.

How much should a minor get paid? ›

If the California learner exception applies, but the federal opportunity wage exception does not apply, the minor can be paid 85% of the state minimum wage for the first 160 hours of work, because that amount is more than the full federal minimum wage (currently $7.25 an hour).

What is the shortest shift you can work? ›

There is no minimum shift requirement or minimum hour requirement for part-time or full-time employees. The 4-hour rule refers to minimum compensation in certain circumstances. These include on-call or scheduled-to-work employees who receive inadequate notice that they do not have any work for their shift.

Is working 10 hours a day too much? ›

Decreased quality of life is one of the big issues facing people who work a four-day, 10-hour work, according to Forbes magazine. Even if you get home in a good mood, you'll have less time to spend with family, especially with young children who might need to get to bed by 8:00 or 9:00.

What time should a 16 year old be home? ›

While some parents rely on a set curfew, others make the rules fit he circumstances. For example, if your teen gets home from after-school activities at 7 p.m., a weekday curfew of 10 p.m. may make sense. On the weekends, maybe 11 p.m. is a more reasonable time.

How old do you have to be to work at Walmart in Washington? ›

As a minimum age requirement, you must be at least 16 years old to work at Walmart and 18 at Sam's Club. Certain positions, however, require a minimum age of 18. As you prepare to complete your application have your prior work history available.

What is the age of a minor? ›

All states define an "age of majority", usually 18. Persons younger than this age are considered minors, and must be under the care of a parent or guardian unless they are emancipated.

What is a livable salary in Washington State? ›

Living Wage Calculation for King County, Washington
0 Children1 Child
Living Wage$22.77$23.57
Poverty Wage$6.53$5.54
Minimum Wage$15.74$15.74

Will minimum wage increase in 2023? ›

Rate Changes Due to the Minimum Wage Increase – January 1, 2023. Due to the enactment of Senate Bill (SB) 3, the California minimum wage increased to $15.50 per hour, effective January 1, 2023, for all employers.

How much do you get paid at Mcdonald's in Seattle? ›

McDonalds Jobs - Crew Team Member - Starting Wage $19/hr.

Does a 14 year old need a work permit in Oregon? ›

All employers must have a certificate to employ minors under 18 years of age. Employers can apply online, or email to request a printed copy of the application by mail. Minors age 14-17 are not issued individual work permits in Oregon.

How long does it take to get a work visa in Washington state? ›

If a visa application is approved during a visa interview, the average processing time is 7-10 working days. At least a further 2-3 workdays should be allowed for delivery. If you are eligible for the 'Interview Waiver Program' and submit your application by courier without attending an interview.

How do I get a work permit at 14 in Washington DC? ›

The student must bring the following:
  1. Application Form (Part B signed by parent/guardian and Part C completed by employer)
  2. Social Security Card.
  3. A copy of Birth Certificate or passport.
  4. Letter of intent to hire from employer.

What proof do I need to get a job? ›

Work documents
  • School and employment records. Almost every job application will ask for your contact information, job history, and education or training. ...
  • Birth certificate. ...
  • Driver's license. ...
  • Social Security card. ...
  • Work permits. ...
  • Under 18. ...
  • Criminal record, or rap sheet.

Can I get a job in Washington with an out of state license? ›

Yes, you can as long as your license is valid.

What documents do employers need to hire you? ›

The most common types of employment forms to complete are:
  • W-4 form (or W-9 for contractors)
  • I-9 Employment Eligibility Verification form.
  • State Tax Withholding form.
  • Direct Deposit form.
  • E-Verify system: This is not a form, but a way to verify employee eligibility in the U.S.

Can I 13 year old work on a farm in Oregon? ›

Minors of any age may work in any job on a farm owned or operated by their parents.

Can I work at mcdonalds at 14 in Oregon? ›

US labour laws vary from state to state, but in Oregon, people aged 14 and above are allowed to work in non-hazardous jobs such as food service, as long as their hours are limited to accommodate schooling and they get adequate rest breaks.

How long does it take to get a work permit in 2023? ›

In general, it takes about 15 months for U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) to process Form I-765. Previously, USCIS processed work permit applications within 5.7 months, but a growing backlog has caused additional delays. The cost for to file I-765 could increase significantly in 2023.

Will USCIS speed up in 2023? ›

In the first few months of 2023, we have continued to see improvements in processing times for many petitions and applications. For example, the current processing time for the I-129 petition is approximately 2 months.

Can you rush a work visa? ›

You can generally request expedited processing by calling the USCIS Contact Center at 800-375-5283 (TTY 800-767-1833) or by asking Emma after you have obtained a receipt notice.

Can 15 year olds work in Washington state? ›

General Regulations for Working Minors

In general, employees must stand years 14 of age or older to work in the State of Washington. Individuals thirteen years of age and younger may work for a family business, provided the minor does not perform prohibited duties.

Do employers care about minors? ›

Most hiring managers don't look for specific minors (or even majors, in many cases) when evaluating job applicants. That said, employers do care a lot about breadth and depth of learning, according to a 2021 survey from the American Association of Colleges and Universities.

What work requires a permit in DC? ›

Construction of retaining walls, fences, sheds, garages, or vault construction. Erection of signs or awnings. Layout of interior space new or existing commercial buildings (e.g. changing the floor plan of a building from six one-bedroom apartments to three two-bedroom apartments)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Dr. Pierre Goyette

Last Updated: 17/12/2023

Views: 6045

Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Dr. Pierre Goyette

Birthday: 1998-01-29

Address: Apt. 611 3357 Yong Plain, West Audra, IL 70053

Phone: +5819954278378

Job: Construction Director

Hobby: Embroidery, Creative writing, Shopping, Driving, Stand-up comedy, Coffee roasting, Scrapbooking

Introduction: My name is Dr. Pierre Goyette, I am a enchanting, powerful, jolly, rich, graceful, colorful, zany person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.